Honorary Doctor

Honorary Doctorate Overview

To be awarded an honorary doctorate, individuals must meet special criteria set by EEQA, and a variety of doctorate degrees can be awarded to them. There are also a number of non-honorary doctorate options that require higher education.

Recipients of honorary doctorates do not earn their degrees through academic achievement; rather, they receive these awards based on acts of generosity and selflessness or lifetime achievement that benefit a community, nation or humanity. EEQA allows candidates to apply for consideration for honors degrees, while third party co-nomination is required.

Recipients may be awarded more than one honors degree, under current rules but twice from EEQA is absolutely not permitted. Candidates can be graduates of any university who have completed the relevant academic requirements and must also possess special standards set by EEQA, which generally recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to society, the country or humanity. Beneficiaries of a prized degree can use the title of "Doctor" conferred by the degree, even though they have not completed a doctoral program.

Honorary Doctorate Standard

While many colleges and universities provide their own rigorous criteria for honors candidates, usually honors degrees are awarded only to individuals with sustained lifetime achievement, not to a group or a single contribution. Public universities do not allow faculty or employees of the school to be nominated for degrees, but private universities may not have the same restrictions. Degree candidates typically represent careers or pursuits that are prominent at the school. However, many institutions place greater emphasis on the long-term impact of individual achievement.

Some schools have age restrictions or require recipients to be present when degrees are conferred. Some schools allow honorary doctorates to be awarded posthumously, and the degree can be accepted by the recipient's family or colleagues.

List of Honorary Doctorates

Depending on achievement, EEQA can award different types of honorary doctorates. While the Doctor of Philosophy degree is strictly controlled according to specific criteria established, other honorary degrees are awarded based on the recipient's achievements. Some examples include:

  • Doctor of Humanities Letters, acknowledging academic achievement

  • Juris Doctor, awarded to professionals in the legal field

  • Doctor of Science, recognizing revolutionary scientific research and discoveries

  • Doctor of Fine Arts, awarded primarily to musicians, actors, architects and artists

  • Doctor of Divinity, awarded to outstanding religious figures

Degree Assessment Process

Depending on the type of honorary doctorate awarded, EEQA's Chairman of the Council, Chairman of the Academic Committee or Special Honors Committee form a selection panel to review the nominations. Candidates or nominating parties must normally submit at least one nomination form and resume by the specified deadline.

The selection panel reviews all documents and makes their recommendations to the Council Secretariat, Academic Committee or Special Honors Committee. EEQA will hold honorary degree conferring ceremonies on specific dates. The accepted awardees will be notified 30 days in advance to attend the honorary degree awarding ceremony.

EEQA's honorary doctorate award is based on charity rather than profit. For this reason, donations are not an important reference or basis for selection. We encourage and support those who have made special and outstanding contributions to society, the country and all mankind in recognition of their immeasurable merit.

Honorary Doctorates and Doctorates

Unlike honorary doctorates, which are awarded to exemplary individuals, some individuals may be interested in obtaining a doctorate through higher education. These individuals may consider a research or professional doctorate. Some options include:

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.): This degree covers a broad range of disciplines with an emphasis on academic research. Course length varies by discipline and student.

  • Doctor of Divinity (Th.D.): This degree is for individuals interested in advanced study of religion-related disciplines.

  • Doctor of Education (Ed.D.): This is the ultimate degree for educators. Course lengths vary, but usually require at least three years of study.

  • Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) or Doctor of Osteology (D.O.): These specialized degrees are aimed at aspiring physicians and require four years of study to complete.

  • Juris Doctor (J.D.): Individuals who would like to become attorneys complete a three-year program to earn this degree.

  • Honorary doctorates are awarded by higher education institutions for lifetime achievement. For those who want to undertake advanced academic or professional research, there is also a PhD program available.